LS engine history

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

strutaeng

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm kinda new to engine building (slowly working on my first LS build) and working on cars in general. I'm reading this book called "How to Build High-performance Chevy LS1/LS6 V-8s" by Will Handzel, S-A Design, 2008.

It's pretty outdated by now (he gives hints about the Gen IV engines that would come out later.) But I find it interesting the first chapter is dedicated to how GM came up with a team of designers and engineers for the drawing board of the LS, development, manufacturing and even tooling.

I can't scan and paste the book here, but we can discuss the topic and share information.

OP
OP
strutaeng

strutaeng

Full Access Member
Reaction score
According to the author, some of the early objectives with the program were:

1. Be smaller, lighter and easier to mass produce than the current V8
2. Produce more horsepower and torque per cubic inch than the previous SBC
3. Have increased fuel mileage and produce less emissions
4. Achieve higher quality and durability than the previous generation V-8s
5. Be capable of being built in multiple displacement and cylinder quantities
6. Be capable of being used in rear- or front-wheel drive vehicles
7. Have industry-leading noise, vibration and harshness (NVH) number

It's interesting to note that they took a development program that originally was meant as a replacement of the 4.3 engine, which was never produced.

Burban22

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have 2 sbc and 2 LS engines. I like how the L31 vortec 5.7 makes more low end torque than the LM7 5.3. The LM7 really only makes power in the upper rev range.

My 2018 L86 6.2L is amazing and makes plenty of power throughout the rpm range, gets good mileage for its displacement.

OP
OP
strutaeng

strutaeng

Full Access Member