How to do the 4 or 6 high mod on an 03-06 full size truck for $3.00

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

tast101

Supporting Member
Joined
May 2, 2009
Posts
2,390
Reaction score
29
Location
Colton, CA
Brought over from TF.com

Rollin Thunder said:
OK. Here is a right up with lots a pics on how to do the 4 or 6 high mod. I always do the 6 high cause the more lights the better and it only take an extra 2 min or so. I did this to my 03 silverado, but the fuse box is the same on an 03-06 silverado, sierra, tahoe, suburban, yukon, yukon xl and so on. So it does not matter. I did the same exact thing in the same exact places on my 06 yukon and had them on for more than a year with no trouble, would still have them If I had not traded it. OK. THe hardest part is makeing sure the diode touches some metel on the relay. We will start out with just the 4 hi mode. Some people say you can put a diode under your dash board, I tried this, im a big guy at 6'2 and it was hard for me to get in to position here, then you gotta worry about removeing the PCM thing and all that crap. This is just much easier for me.


Ok first. Open your hood.

Then find your fuse box.


open the fuse box. Find the two relays that say HdLP-high and Hdlp- low. high one is all by it self all the way to the left towards the hood of the truck. Low is second from the bottom closest to the driver fender. RIght below the low is the fog. Usually the fog relay is black while the rest are grey.

On to pics.


First remove the LOWBEAM relay. This may need plyers, I damaged mine but they still work fine (knock on wood). Put it in the RIGHT REAR socket, it wont fit in, just make sure the metel on the diode is touching the metel on the relay. Keep the grey band pointed towards the highbeam headlamp or yourhighs will be on when ever your low beams are on, if you find this, just simply reverce the diode.... sorry my first 2 pics are bad, the rest are much clearer, but you get the idea

yes-7.jpg




THen put the lowbeam relay back on. were done with this one enless you did not make sure metel was touching metel here. KEEP IN MINE THE DIODE METEL SHOULD ONLY TOUCH THE RIGHT REAR CORNER DIODE PEG!!! OR NOM 85 ON YOUR FUSE BOX MAP!!!

yes2-9.jpg



Then pull out your highbeam relay. an repeat the above step... IF you only want the 4 high mod. Just put the relay back. The DIODE end must be in the RIGHT REAR of the highbeam relay as well.

yes3-5.jpg


IF you would like to continue to the 6 high mod ( and I know you do) Then follow these extra steps.





Remove the fog relay. Put the diode in the TOP LEFT of the fog relay. MAKE SURE THE GREY BAND IS TOWARD THE HIGH BEAM RELAY!!!! install your second diode. IF you got the radio shack ones they come in 2 packs. 3 amp 50volt resistor diodes. Re install the fog relay again making damn sure metel is touching metel and only touching that one relay peg.


yes4-5.jpg



Then this gets kinda tricky, but after a few beers you calm down and get it done. get both diodes to touch the same RIGHT REAR peg of the highbeam relay. Then just jam in the highbeam relay, make sure both diodes are snug.


yes5-2.jpg

yes6-1.jpg





This should be your result with teh 4 high mod.

yes7-1.jpg


THIS SHOULD BE YOUR RESULT WITH THE 6 HIGH MOD!!!

yes8-1.jpg
 

Anthony

2004 Tahoe LT (MA)
Joined
Jun 7, 2009
Posts
1,242
Reaction score
9
Location
Westen MA
I did this MOD and it works great, can anyone help me add my DRL to this mod too?
 

OKLAGMCRUISER

Need drop...send $
Joined
May 16, 2009
Posts
1,155
Reaction score
0
Location
Kiefer, OK
What size diode should we buy? I can't see the pics at work...sorry if the answer is within the pics.
 

Rollin Thunder

Banned for Repeatedly Insulting Members
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Posts
6,044
Reaction score
7
Location
Va Beach Va
3 amp 50 volt diode is perfect. Also to do the DRL mod, Just find the DRL relay and repeat.
 

brndns_hoe

Full Access Member
Joined
May 4, 2009
Posts
864
Reaction score
5
Location
Plano, TX
on the DRL relay, it's the bottom right slot as well, number 35 on the diagram, the only different is the fog relay, 35 is the top left slot...and I have 1 amp 50v diodes, they work fine as well if you can't find the 3 amp
 

DenaliAK

Colder than you
Joined
Aug 1, 2009
Posts
2,178
Reaction score
10
Location
Alaska
Just did this today in about 2 minutes. Ridiculously easy and cheap. Cost me $0.98. Radio Shack FTW! Oh, and I did the 6-high. The shop I have used in the past for HID installs would have charged me $70.00 for the "relay."
 

vatahoelt

Full Access Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2009
Posts
1,014
Reaction score
13
Location
NoVa
is there a way to wire it, so that the other lights are controlled by a switch when the highs come on? i'm sure someone has probably run their system this way.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
129,541
Posts
1,817,397
Members
92,752
Latest member
MrRuiz
Top