How simple or complicated is it to add an ATF temp gauge to an '02 Z71 gauge cluster?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Marky Dissod

Full Access Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2023
Posts
1,504
Reaction score
2,046
Location
(718)-
Just read this post.

I would REALLY like to have an ATF temp gauge added to my 2002 Tahoe Z71's cluster (although it's not NEEDED, I prefer not to settle).
I do NOT want to do this myself.

Who'd be so kind as to accept some of my money and do this for me?
Do I need to provide them with my gauge cluster, one from a junkyard, or can I buy it from them?
 

OR VietVet

Multnomah Falls
Supporting Member
Military
Joined
Oct 8, 2014
Posts
19,785
Reaction score
33,482
Location
Willamette Valley
Get ahold of these people: https://www.fixmygauges.com/. They can explain what they do. They did it to my 05 Z71. You can go thru their site, pick what you want and they send to you. Then you send back your cluster in their provided return packaging and if you do that you get a lifetime warranty. The key is to make sure you have the wiring harness from your transmission to the back of the dash cluster. Typically they were built on the assembly line with the harness supplied and plugged in at the transmission, because so many clusters ended up in other models and trucks that did have the transmission temp gauge and it was less expensive to build ALL harnesses the same and then plug-n-play as needed.
 

RAMurphy

Bob
Supporting Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Posts
1,256
Reaction score
3,772
Location
S. Maryland
I did this years and years ago (over 10). I also have 2002 Tahoe. Yes, as @OR VietVet stated, your Tahoe is already wired for this input. I ended up purchasing a cluster from, believe it or not, RockAuto. I just looked under 2002 Silverado 2500 (6.0L). At the time, when I ordered it you gave them your make, model, VIN and mileage and they flashed the cluster. It gets delivered and then you send back your old cluster. I tried to do this myself by ordering a cluster from ebay and just utilizing the parts from it to get my original cluster to work, but the cluster needs to be flashed to work. I used that ebay cluster for a little bit, after I put it back together, the transmission temp worked but the mileage was way off. So then I went down the RockAuto option and I use that ebay cluster for parts (stepper motors. etc.). I have also heard great things, from not only this forum, but from others about Fix My Guages, plus you can customize the look.
 

OR VietVet

Multnomah Falls
Supporting Member
Military
Joined
Oct 8, 2014
Posts
19,785
Reaction score
33,482
Location
Willamette Valley
IMO, I would contact them and ask. I knew my 2005 had the harness from the factory and was already plugged in. That is why I said to make sure, FIRST, that you have that harness and if you do, make sure is attached at the transmission and the other end of it will be behind your existing cluster and should be plug-n-play with a new cluster with the transmission temp gauge. I was worried that your 2002 did not have that harness. Call them and they should be able to tell you for sure. The addition of the harness should be pretty easy, if the transmission is also set up for the harness to be plugged in to. In other words, don't assume anything. I didn't on my 2005 and did my research first.
 

RAMurphy

Bob
Supporting Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2011
Posts
1,256
Reaction score
3,772
Location
S. Maryland
So, as @OR VietVet stated, just reach out to them and ask; they are a great little company. This is what "I" know. Your Tahoe is wired to provide this information. If you talk or email them they will tell you that same thing. They do work on the 2002 clusters but don't have the same level of customization available (something your not looking for). Again, just call and ask. The difference between the 2002 from the 2003 and out is, I believe, the harness and programming. But again, call (860-583-0629) and ask. Flashing will be required to get your cluster to work and accept the transmission temp input (they will do that).
 

mountie

Supporting Member
Joined
May 9, 2018
Posts
3,974
Reaction score
6,836
Location
Wellington, Fl., (formally Kalifornia)
In So Calif, I worked for a while at a performance transmission shop, owned by 'Art Carr'....
He always suggest his customers NOT to add a transmission temp gauge.
The temp changes will drive you nuts.
 

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Posts
24,549
Reaction score
36,207
Location
Stockton, Ca.
So I should not be concerned that there is not a single word about anything about any gauge clusters pre-2003?
Except for adding an ATF temp gauge, no need to customize anything else.
the transmission temp signal is built in on all 00-23 all makes and models suv & pickup
the easiest method is to simply buy a cluster with a transmission temp gauge and programmed to your vin
it can be added by soldering and yada yada but still has to be flashed to the eprom in the cluster to work.
so unless you are investing a whole bunch of time and effort into doing it yourself then it's easier to just buy it or have a person do it that does it as a side gig or whatever seems to be a guy in every town, just check craigslist.
 

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2017
Posts
24,549
Reaction score
36,207
Location
Stockton, Ca.
In So Calif, I worked for a while at a performance transmission shop, owned by 'Art Carr'....
He always suggest his customers NOT to add a transmission temp gauge.
The temp changes will drive you nuts.
lol, maybe my 00 & 03 always stayed around 180 unless I was doing something really severe, the gmt900's+ do change like a womens attitude.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
130,398
Posts
1,831,780
Members
94,010
Latest member
coachkeifer

Latest posts

Top