1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Autoride suspension help

Discussion in 'Street Suspension' started by BH1989, Feb 16, 2021.

Sponsored By: DJM Belltech
  1. Rocket Man

    Rocket Man Build It Better Supporting Member

    Posts:
    18,284
    Likes Received:
    30,949
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Name:
    Mark
    I keep finding that fault code means position sensor over current but that TSB is talking about it being a pressure sensor short to ground. In my googling I did come across this thread here on the forum and he says it was his suspension control module however he was having a shop do the work so it’s second hand information. https://www.tahoeyukonforum.com/threads/intermittent-service-suspension-c0696-code.68607/
     
  2. George B

    George B Full Access Member

    Posts:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    5,433
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2020
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Name:
    George
    Thanks.
    Yes I saw that one too. I noted his suspension sensors were reading really low. Mine are reading about mid scale and change as I change the vehicle position but I don't know if that means they are ok.

    I did find this which includes the compressor pressure sensor in the diagnostic procedure as one of the suspect parts.

    I was messing with it again this morning and it didn't seem like the vent valve was working correctly. I command it on and the pressure doesn't drop like I think it should. Seems like it sticks around 22 psi unless I go and pull one of the lines off the shocks then the rest of the air comes out and it settles to about 3 psi. I did remote start and then get in and insert the key and drive away. It didn't run the pump test and when I arrived at work the system was at 0 psi. cycling the ignition resulted in a test run and about 14 psi pressure.
     
  3. George B

    George B Full Access Member

    Posts:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    5,433
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2020
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Name:
    George
    It would be nice if someone with a properly operating system could take their tech2 and compare position sensor range, pressure and relief valve operation.
     
    wsteele likes this.
  4. Doubeleive

    Doubeleive Supporting Member

    Posts:
    13,552
    Likes Received:
    15,504
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    Stockton, Ca.
    Name:
    Wes
    when I was testing mine I could see the pressure reading showing all kinds of stupid numbers as it was inflating anywhere from 0~180psi when it would only run for a few seconds, just not possible for it to have 180 psi in the same amount of time it takes to make 20-25 psi, and it would also do the same thing that you just posted it would sometimes inflate low like 14 psi.
    I wouldn't worry about the height sensors, the pump is bad and that c0895 code you showed is a low voltage 9v which probably means it is shorting out, I would replace the pump.
    when I replaced mine it read properly it would go right up to 20-25psi and hold, if I cycled it again real quick it would build a little more maybe 30-35. those pumps are made for intermittent operation only that's why they cut off even if the air line was disconnected. I can hook mine up later today and make a video of it or something, gotta go do some work in a little bit
     
    wsteele and George B like this.
  5. George B

    George B Full Access Member

    Posts:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    5,433
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2020
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Name:
    George
    Thanks.
    The C0895 was in there when I went in to check at first and I believe it may be related to the voltage drop I was chasing when the Stabilitrac actuates. that one cleared and has not returned. the C0696 is still present and will not clear. I can try with my tech2 and it just causes the service suspension message to show on the dic. that message is not showing while driving without the scanner attached. it only shows when I try to clear the code.
     
    wsteele likes this.
  6. Doubeleive

    Doubeleive Supporting Member

    Posts:
    13,552
    Likes Received:
    15,504
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    Stockton, Ca.
    Name:
    Wes
    ok so take a multi meter and check each of the 4 sensor connectors.
    check each one and note the ohms and voltage on the harness to the body and then check the ohms on the sensor side.
    after you check each one, note if one is different or not and go from there.
    the voltage should be 5v, not sure what the ohms should be but they should all read approx the same.
     
    wsteele and George B like this.
  7. George B

    George B Full Access Member

    Posts:
    2,745
    Likes Received:
    5,433
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2020
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Name:
    George
    Next question is which pump. Arnott or Dorman?
     
    wsteele likes this.
  8. Doubeleive

    Doubeleive Supporting Member

    Posts:
    13,552
    Likes Received:
    15,504
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    Stockton, Ca.
    Name:
    Wes
    well either should be fine...but I had to replace the arnott twice and then went with the Dorman and it has been fine.
    could have just been bad luck. I only went with aftermarket because of lifetime warranty, oem should be fine as well.
     
    wsteele likes this.
  9. Doubeleive

    Doubeleive Supporting Member

    Posts:
    13,552
    Likes Received:
    15,504
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    Stockton, Ca.
    Name:
    Wes
    if one of the height sensors is bad it should show a different ohm reading than the other 3 or have a open circuit.
     
    wsteele likes this.
  10. Doubeleive

    Doubeleive Supporting Member

    Posts:
    13,552
    Likes Received:
    15,504
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    Stockton, Ca.
    Name:
    Wes
    I would think it should be able to tell you which one is bad like it can with the shocks but apparently not.
     
    wsteele likes this.

Share This Page