Tell me why I need a Tech 2.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Oldmopars

Reaction score
I have been doing a lot of reading and see posts about the Tech 2.
Please help me understand why I need one. I have a 2008 2500 Suburban with 6.0L.
It has no air ride, no stability control, etc.
What will it do for me that a regular OBDII won’t do?
Please understand I know very little about them, so this is a honest question.
BTW, I am a certified mechanic, but have been out of the game since I joined the military in 1993.(late start)
After that it was aircraft wrenching and heavy equipment. Thanks.

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Reaction score
it is a better troubleshooting tool, it has direct communication with the vehicle bcm and sub modules that a off the shelf scanner does not. So it can save you time and a trip to the dealer and each time it does you get to keep a $100+ bucks in your wallet, yes it has a initial cost but it will eventually pay for it's self and when you move on to another vehicle you can get most of your money back out of it by selling it to someone else. you could also potentially use it to make a little side money if the opportunity arose by helping out a acquaintance, neighbor, etc.

Joseph Garcia

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Not only does the Tech 2 read trouble codes, it also helps you diagnose the root cause of the issue, so that you can make an informed decision on whether to fix it yourself or have someone perform the work. Also, the Tech 2 can monitor your systems' actions in real time for many functions, which further assists you in diagnosing issues.