1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tech 2 Purchase

Discussion in 'Engine & Drivetrain' started by Costal_Cat, May 8, 2019.

  1. ivin74

    ivin74 05 NBS Nali

    Posts:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Location:
    Htown, Texas
    Name:
    Ivin

    Yeap, I set it up just like @Bandit-66 has his set up.
     
  2. Tonyrodz

    Tonyrodz Resident Resident

    Posts:
    21,071
    Likes Received:
    24,181
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    Central Jersey
    Name:
    Tony
    Can you post a pic? I actually have the same case, but it's set up for something totally different.
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2020
  3. ivin74

    ivin74 05 NBS Nali

    Posts:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Location:
    Htown, Texas
    Name:
    Ivin
    Does anyone what the CD's do that come with the Tech-2?
    My Tech-2 did not come with the them. Do I need them?
    I also read that the Tech-2 does not come with the diagnostic software and must be loaded. What those that mean?
     
  4. ivin74

    ivin74 05 NBS Nali

    Posts:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Location:
    Htown, Texas
    Name:
    Ivin
    Here you go

    16008278739592552809977935128492.jpg
     
    Just Fishing, Bandit-66 and Tonyrodz like this.
  5. swathdiver

    swathdiver Full Access Member

    Posts:
    11,867
    Likes Received:
    11,964
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Location:
    Treasure Coast, Florida
    Name:
    James
    You do not NEED the CDs. You need the PCMCIA card to communicate with a vehicle. It's supposed to go into the slot closest to the screen.
     
    ivin74 likes this.
  6. Rocket Man

    Rocket Man Build It Better Supporting Member

    Posts:
    16,626
    Likes Received:
    26,822
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Name:
    Mark
    The software is on the PCMCIA card which might come separate or might already be installed in its slot. The CDs are pretty much worthless but I believe one of them has explanations on basic setup like inserting the PCMCIA card and such. You can Google it though.
     
    Doubeleive likes this.
  7. ivin74

    ivin74 05 NBS Nali

    Posts:
    1,430
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Location:
    Htown, Texas
    Name:
    Ivin
    Makes sense, the card came inserted on the top slot.
    Can I throw away all the other connections I don't need and won't be using? Which ones should I keep?
     
  8. Fless

    Fless Full Access Member

    Posts:
    2,356
    Likes Received:
    3,308
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Location:
    Elev 5,280
    Name:
    Steve
    Keep ALL of the connections. If you sell it later on or pass it along to someone else, they may be needed.
     
  9. swathdiver

    swathdiver Full Access Member

    Posts:
    11,867
    Likes Received:
    11,964
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Location:
    Treasure Coast, Florida
    Name:
    James
    I wouldn't, you need them to self-test and diagnose the machine, different power up options and to connect to a computer.
     
    Joseph Garcia and ivin74 like this.
  10. Just Fishing

    Just Fishing Full Access Member

    Posts:
    103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2020
    Location:
    Utah
    Name:
    Chris
    Just got my tech 2 in the mail today.
    Spent a little time tinkering with it.
    Guessing mostly on the vehicle codes and types with my S10
    pressing buttons to see what happens... :D

    Pretty neat, like old school computer stuff
    PCMCIA cards bring back memories... lol
     

Share This Page