Dissable TPMS

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Sam Harris

Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2018
Posts
7,401
Reaction score
14,809
Location
Texas
You want TPMS for the GMT800 platform? (Not judging, just confused)
Ah, hell naw! I was referring to AutoSync. Lol. But indeed, the NBS did have TPMS starting in 2004 IIRC, the year after my Yukon. I’m happy to not have to deal with that nanny.
 

S33k3r

Full Access Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2017
Posts
2,285
Reaction score
3,025
Location
Dallas, Texas
Ah, hell naw! I was referring to AutoSync. Lol. But indeed, the NBS did have TPMS starting in 2004 IIRC, the year after my Yukon. I’m happy to not have to deal with that nanny.
I have been told, but have not been able to test, that if you switch to a 2003 cluster, TPMS goes away. :)
 

MassHoe04

Full Access Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2021
Posts
1,586
Reaction score
2,798
Location
Western MA
I don’t think it was available in ‘03. Could be wrong..
Take my 04... It came with TPMS.

If 03 did not have TMPS and 03 cluster has no TMPS yellow warning light on the cluster, wouldn't my 04 (or BCM or whatever watches TPMS) computer still send text to display on the 03 DIC saying "Service Tire Pressure Monitor" if I put that 03 cluster into my 04? If that makes any sense.

Cluster and display are dummy devices displaying (or not) whatever the computers are telling them. I would think.
 
Last edited:

Sam Harris

Supporting Member
Joined
Sep 26, 2018
Posts
7,401
Reaction score
14,809
Location
Texas
Take my 04... It came with TPMS.

If 03 did not have TMPS and 03 cluster has no TMPS yellow warning light on the cluster, wouldn't my 04 (or BCM or whatever watches TPMS) computer still send text to display on the 03 DIC saying "Service Tire Pressure Monitor" if I put that 03 cluster into my 04? If that makes any sense.

Cluster and display are dummy devices displaying (or not) whatever the computers are telling them. I would think.
Gotcha. Sorry, I misunderstood. I agree, the BCM (presumably), would still likely send a message to be displayed on the DIC.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
129,695
Posts
1,819,986
Members
93,001
Latest member
TireFire
Top