5.3 L59, No Oil Pressure Due to Sludge, Help!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RedRadioFlyer

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Long story, Ill make it as short as I can. I bought an '04 Tahoe 4x4 w/ the 5.3, 155k mi about 13mo ago - completely stock. Once I changed the oil a few times a pretty bad lifter tap appeared on cold starts, got worse pretty quickly. This gave me an excuse to rebuild the top end, and add a new cam/heads at about 172k mi. Over the 4th of July weekend I tore it down to replace the lifters w/ new LS7s, pushrods, BTR stage II cam, built 243 heads, all gaskets/hardware in between, and a dyno tune afterwards. I was a GM tech for 5 years and have done a few performance head/cam swaps on these engines in the past, so its a job I was very familiar with. Everything went pretty well until I got the front cover and valve covers off. This engine is hard sludged worse than almost any engine I've ever personally worked on. Looks like between the fuel dilution, probable long oil change intervals, an obvious overheat or two, and maybe some water entry from the previous owner, this bulletproof engine is in alot of trouble. I pushed on with the rebuild, cleaning everything as well as I could without a parts washer. Here are some pics pre-cleaning:

wGDSHP3.jpg
Qiqm9Qo.jpg
eok7HU3.jpg

Note: I was not planning on replacing the oil pump or timing gear/chain at this point - I (somehow) had decent oil pressure before the rebuild and was going to do later when I had the oil pan off and/or was adding significantly more power. Oil pump was NOT disturbed so I didn't have to worry about the pickup tube falling off.