4-6" Cross Member Cut Question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

gmartin1215

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have been researching lift kits for my 2009 Tahoe LT. Currently, I am leaning toward the BDS 4" lift kit. Why 4" and not 6"? Lower COG, and I still would like for the Tahoe to fit in my garage.

Anyway, looking through the install instructions for the BDS kit, I noticed a step to weld on a plate to the end of the cross member bracket that they cut to make room for the lowered differential.

Instructions for the BDS kit are here.

I was also looking at the Rough Country 5" kit too. The RC kit had similar instructions for lowering the differential. However, RC did not have any step for welding a plate to the cut cross member's end.

Instructions for the RC kit are here.

Given the instructions' differences, I am assuming that the step BDS added to weld the plate on the cross member's end is primarily additional protection or insurance that the differential does not get damaged by this modification.

For anyone who has installed the BDS or RC kits, what is the real risk if the plate's welding on the end of the cross member is omitted? Does damage to the differential frequently occur from the cut cross member that this plate is necessary?

wjburken

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I don't think the plate that BDS says to weld in is to protect the differential. It is there for added structural integrity of that connection point. It helps keep that part of the frame from folding back due to the added moment arm length.

OP
OP
gmartin1215

gmartin1215

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I don't think the plate that BDS says to weld in is to protect the differential. It is there for added structural integrity of that connection point. It helps keep that part of the frame from folding back due to the added moment arm length.