08 Yukon Projector Retrofit Issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Shimmy23

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I feel like i've tried everything I can to figure this issue out, aside from replacing the morimoto harness or adding capacitors. I'm no electrical engineer :)

Here's my setup:

Morimoto D2S mini 5.0 projectors
Osram CBB w/morimoto XB35 2.0 ballasts
Morimoto relay harness (plug and play)
in OEM yukon headlight housings

My first issue is that the driver side light will intermittently work. If its out, I'll turn off the headlights and then BOTH won't work... I wait a minute or so, then both turn on. Makes me think there's a voltage issue or potential relay?

My second issue is that if both sides work, the passenger side will start to have a faint flicker that comes and goes. Its barely there, but enough for me to notice when I'm driving. Its almost a pulsing type flicker, not like a flashing or strobing. I do not hear any clicking from the relay during this action.

All components are about 2 months old. I've checked all connections and they're fine. I've checked all grounds (wired to factory grounding spots), all seem fine. I've swapped ballasts/igniters and still have the same issue. My last stop is replacing the wiring relay harness or adding a capacitor.

Any ideas what could be causing this? I know many of us have done retrofits. This is my second one on this chassis and never had issues before. What wiring harness are ya'll using?

TIA!

EDIT:
i have 80k miles, and on original alternator. Battery was replaced about 4 years ago.

Geoffsfas10

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I wonder if one of the relays in the harness isnt functioning properly.

I had a drivers light that wouldnt fire occasionally and it was the result of a bad ground. Since you have tested those, id try relays

OP
OP
S

Shimmy23