Which Knock sensor is P0327?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Matthew Jeschke

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First there are two knock sensor fault codes. One is for Bank one, the other for Bank 2. However, both sensors are located directly in middle of the valley. We're getting code P0327, anybody know if that's the front knock sensor or the rear knock sensor and which sensor is which on the harness?

Background, my buddy has a 2005 Z71 Silverado. It's ABSOLUTELY cherry. He got a knock sensor code and asked if I wanted to do the repair. I'm not a insured mechanic though and said best he take that to a shop. I picture myself dropping something down into a cylinder during repair and making a nightmare situation...

Well, he took it to the mechanic, twice and they couldn't fix the issue. First time they replaced the sensors but not the harness. Second time they replaced the harness. I'm not sure what they diagnosed though...

I started by hooking a oscope to the harness and exciting the sensors (knocking on the block) both sensors generate a signal.

I think his issue is with the PCM and or PCM side of harness. However, I'd love to figure out WHICH wire to focus in on. I cannot figure out which sensor is for P0327.

On a side note I logged data with HP tuners VCM scanner on his truck. I'm shocked to see it pulling as much as 8 degrees of timing at 1800 to 2000 RPM. Something doesn't seem right to me there. For comparison, my 6.0L I built pulls NO timing / registers no knock w/ 87 octane fuel even, unless I start messing with the timing.

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Reaction score
well all the timing stuff aside
it's always best to do BOTH knock sensors and new harness and use OEM parts at the same time, otherwise you are back in there again as is probably the case now