What did you do to your NBS GMT800 Tahoe/Yukon Today?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vwbeaner, Mar 29, 2010.

  1. Bombsquad85

    Bombsquad85 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    982
    Likes Received:
    879
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Name:
    David
    The weirdest thing happened to me right after I did the terminal. For about 2 hours the ac didn't work and blew insanely hot air out. After driving around a while the ac now blows ice cold again. Is that a sign of further ac problems? I just repaired my rear ac, and replaced blower motor resistor in the front.
     
  2. HiHoeSilver

    HiHoeSilver Away!

    Posts:
    6,253
    Likes Received:
    6,380
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2017
    Location:
    Chicago
    Name:
    Nate
    If you had the battery disconnected long enough (which I'm sure you did) The climate control will recalibrate itself upon startup. Takes about 10-15 minutes.
     
    PoPoPPV likes this.
  3. Bombsquad85

    Bombsquad85 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    982
    Likes Received:
    879
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Name:
    David
    Ok thank you so much I was about to order new blend doors and an ac compressor haha it's cold now so I'm happy I just dont want it to shit the bed on me
     
    PoPoPPV likes this.
  4. brian.roberts.1293

    brian.roberts.1293 Full Access Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    378
    Likes Received:
    145
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Name:
    Brian
    I got a replacement puddle light in today. Thanks @Tonyrodz!

    Also got my knew projectors in and installed. Now I have a couple questions for all you guys. 1) It came with a set of 50 watt 6k hids for the low beam. And the high beam on it is a 9005. I had 9005 hids in the low beam in the last lights. Will hids work in the high beams? Like for flashing the lights?
    2) it has 2 LEDs beside the lights what should I wires those into? Also it has halos what should I wires those into?

    Thank you for all you guys help![​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
     
  5. Bombsquad85

    Bombsquad85 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    982
    Likes Received:
    879
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Name:
    David

    Looks good. I would wire the halos and what not to the running lights. Just dont tap the positive to the turn signal wire.

    As for hids I would say no to highbeam hids the warm up and cool down is ineffective and flashing would kill the pretty quick. Also I would go with 4300 or 5000k
     
  6. 05Single

    05Single afraid of the dark Supporting Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    6,016
    Likes Received:
    6,150
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Name:
    Dave
    Headlight junkies will just talk shit to him, bunch of know it all chodes on there.:nolol:

    @brian.roberts.1293 I have a few good contacts for retrofit work, but be prepared that the price will be $400 and up for quality work.
     
  7. Rocket Man

    Rocket Man Sometimes A Dumbass

    Posts:
    8,501
    Likes Received:
    10,325
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Name:
    Mark
    I'm pretty sure they changed the gap on the 99-02's to .040 also in a TSB. I've been running .040 in my 02 forever. And the iridiums will come at .040; double check them but they aren't supposed to be re-gapped or they'll prolly get damaged.
     
    00'BlueSteel and bottomline2000 like this.
  8. bottomline2000

    bottomline2000 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,581
    Likes Received:
    793
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Name:
    Big G
    A little something I read on the vette forum.. not many of us running high compression motors but I believe the tighter gap being more consistent to be true and less likely to arc especially if you are tuned and your tuned and your timing is more advanced in the upper rpms, but it also makes sense why some can run bigger plug gaps with no noticeable difference in performance. My truck runs great with a .040 gap. No problem leaving a new Tahoe for dead lol..

    467 -
    Westech Peformance in LA (the outfit that does all the dyno testing for Hot Rod/Car Craft/ Hi PerfChev, etc.) has a really neat distributor machine with a spark plug tester. I got to play a bit with this machine last time I was out there doing dyno runs with Hot Rod, and I found out the same thing that Westech has known for years:

    This machine allows you to pressurize the spark plugs to simulate cylinderpressure while the distributor fires the plugs. Little "windows" allow you to observe the plug sparks at elevated cylinder pressure. What I found is that gaps in excess of .040, even with an MSD system, will cause the plugs to begin misfiring at peak cylinder pressures and elevated rpm (or the arc will jump the plug wires). Big gaps work well on low performance engines that do not produce high power levels (high cylinder pressure). But high compression, high power engines do not perform reliably at elevated rpm with big plug gaps. For this reason, Westech and Dougan's Engine Service run all their engines at .035 - .040 gaps. This produces reliable spark and ignition throughout the rpm range with low possibility of misfire. Larger gaps will either not fire the plugs at all, or the spark will arc across the plug wires at elevated cylinder pressures.

    ...just the facts as I have personally observed them with some good testing equipment...

    Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-T377A using Tapatalk
     
    00'BlueSteel likes this.
  9. Bombsquad85

    Bombsquad85 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    982
    Likes Received:
    879
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2016
    Location:
    Northern VA
    Name:
    David
    I never post there. Just look at the completed projects and ignore the trolls. A lot of people do great work there
     
    05Single likes this.
  10. brian.roberts.1293

    brian.roberts.1293 Full Access Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    378
    Likes Received:
    145
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2015
    Location:
    Durham NC
    Name:
    Brian
    I won't post either but I'll read like you said. These were some of the nicer looking lights I could find. So we will see. I'm gonna pull the light that's in the projector out and put the hid in there and see how I want to wire the halos and led lights in. The looked pretty good at night with a stock light. If the hid really brightens it up like its supposed to its gonna be well worth buying the new set.

    Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page