Thoughts on extended warranties

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

shock

Reaction score
My 19 Tahoe (and 19 Silverado) are nearing the end of their b2b warranties.

What do forum members think of extended warranty vs not getting one, or about one company/plan vs others?

If it matters, I’m a very low mileage driver (esp w covid). I’d prob be looking for longer term and lower mileage. Planning on keeping both vehicles about 8-12 more years.

OR VietVet

Multnomah Falls
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
Lots of threads about this question and in each of them I have always said and always will say NO!. You should have savings set back for auto repairs and maintenance. The extended warranties are always odds favorites for the warranty company. Sure, every now and then the vehicle owner does use the warranty and it pays for itself but the whole idea for these companies is to keep money and the odds are in their favor every time. Your call though. I ran auto repair shops and worked as a tech for a total of 35+ years. I dealt with these companies and hate them.

Bill 1960

Testing the Limits
Reaction score
They’re not warranties, they are service contracts. And those words matter because a whole different set of laws apply.

It’s a gamble between you and the service provider on how many covered failures will occur. They have ALL the data on failures at their disposal to price accordingly and to include their profits.

I’m not a gambler myself. Especially when the other party has seen all the cards.

Tonyv__

Full Access Member
Reaction score