Scan tool

Discussion in 'Engine & Drivetrain' started by John Bragg, Aug 10, 2018 at 5:45 AM.

  1. John Bragg

    John Bragg TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Name:
    John
    So I subscribed to all data diy to get this reduced engine power problem figured out. Of course with my luck my current scan tool isnt advanced enough. So I ask does anyone on here know of a good budget friendly scan tool that I can perform all the necessary tests and checks with? Any help is greatly appreciated, thank you in advance

    Sent from my VS985 4G using Tapatalk
     
  2. Scottydoggs

    Scottydoggs Full Access Member

    Posts:
    838
    Likes Received:
    632
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Location:
    NJ
    Name:
    Scott
    got a code or two to share?
     
    swathdiver likes this.
  3. swathdiver

    swathdiver Full Access Member

    Posts:
    4,305
    Likes Received:
    2,769
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Location:
    Treasure Coast, Florida
    Name:
    James
    Tech2 John. It'll pay for itself in no time. Prices start around $300 and you want software version 33.004. There are some bluetooth ODBII adapters that work with phone apps but they do not perform tests as far as I know and may or may not see Transmission, Transfer Case, Body and Chassis codes and information. These fellas know more about them: @randeez @kbuskill
     
    John Bragg likes this.
  4. kbuskill

    kbuskill ***CAUTION*** I do my own stunts!

    Posts:
    1,545
    Likes Received:
    1,575
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    N.E. FL.
    Name:
    Ken
    You can get the OBD2 dongle from many places online for pretty cheap. Some use Bluetooth some use WiFi and some will do both. Just search for ELM327. There are many apps available for Android phones that will work with these devices, I'm not sure about what is available for Apple since I don't use one. I use the Torque Pro app ($5) and it works pretty well.

    As far as reading transmission and BCM codes I am not 100% sure. I know that it can read the transmissions temperature and what gear it is currently in so there must be some communication there BUT I have never had a code to read, thank God, other than a regular CEL.

    These are more for scanning and monitoring not really for performing tests. The Tech2 is the way to go.
     
    John Bragg and swathdiver like this.
  5. Matt_

    Matt_ Full Access Member

    Posts:
    307
    Likes Received:
    304
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2016
    Name:
    Matt
    Check out the Autel MD805. Reads all modules (PCM,TCM,ABS,Airbag,Body, etc) and does system tests as well. Works on almost every vehicle, and is about $175.
     
    John Bragg and swathdiver like this.
  6. John Bragg

    John Bragg TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    15
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Name:
    John
    The issue is reduced engine power has been happening for a year or better but now has gotten to rediculous levels almost can't drive anywhere even just down the street without it coming on assuming you can start it without it kicking on instantaneously. Sometimes even just key on engine off it will read on the info center. Throttle A and b circuit codes most common. I have replaced throttle body, maf sensor, and app sensor. Same issue remains I got advice on here to get alldatadiy subscription to troubleshoot so I did. I like problem is my scan tool just wasn't sophisticated enough. Thanks for the suggestions i appreciate it, I'm gonna look into them tonight and with any luck get this beast running at 100% again so I no longer have to worry about long distance trips.

    Sent from my VS985 4G using Tapatalk
     
    swathdiver likes this.
  7. Doubeleive

    Doubeleive Elite Member Supporting Member

    Posts:
    2,719
    Likes Received:
    1,598
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    Stockton, Ca.
    Name:
    Wes
    I have read that this is also sometimes caused by the throttle position sensor (gas pedal sensor) or sometimes a short in the throttle body harness, just something to look into
     
    John Bragg likes this.
  8. CountryBoy19

    CountryBoy19 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    89
    Likes Received:
    50
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Location:
    Southern Indiana
    Name:
    Mark
    IMHO, tech2 and don't look back. My elm327 won't read commanded throttle position, only the actual throttle position... this is absolutely necessary when trouble shooting on the models with electronic throttle control... I'm still learning what the tech 2 is capable of and I'm glad I spent the money... if only it could do the repairs for me, haha... the other day my wife asked why the ac doesn't work in my car... I told her it hasn't worked in years, her reply, "is that why you bought that thing? So it would fix your ac?" Lol, nope, mine doesn't actually perform the repairs, if anyone finds one that does let me know!
     
  9. Scottydoggs

    Scottydoggs Full Access Member

    Posts:
    838
    Likes Received:
    632
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2017
    Location:
    NJ
    Name:
    Scott
    ive heard a bad wire or two at any one the tb pig tails can cause this, being it seems you went for new parts already.

    on yt theres vids of guys tugging on the wires and they pull right off/out the plug, aka broken. look for any cracks or bare wire showing. if you see any of that you need a new pig tail for what ever your playing with.
     
    swathdiver and Doubeleive like this.
  10. novemberr

    novemberr Member

    Posts:
    57
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2016
    Name:
    Yong
    Is tech2 a brand name or a device name? Can it read cars other than GM?
    My backup car 2006 Hyundai Sonata just won't start. My friend's scan tool can't communicate with the car.
    Thank you.
     

Share This Page