Engine oil life monitor PID info

Discussion in 'Performance' started by kbuskill, Sep 6, 2018.

Sponsored By: Black Bear Performance
  1. kbuskill

    kbuskill ***CAUTION*** I do my own stunts!

    Posts:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    NE. FL.
    Name:
    Ken
    I have been trying to get the engine oil life monitor to read properly in the Torque Pro app but haven't had any success.

    These are the parameters I have currently...
    rps20180906_013641_113.jpg rps20180906_013711.jpg

    And it reads 39% constantly.

    I have tried many other configurations and equations but almost all of them give me a negative reading.

    I know I can just pull up the info on my dash but I would like to get this working just because it should be possible.

    Does any one have this working correctly???

    Any help is appreciated.

    I "think" I finally got the ethanol % working correctly... I should know tomorrow as I will probably fill up with E85.

    I also have the oil temperature, transmission temperature, A/C high side pressure, and current gear working properly if anyone needs the info just ask and I will post the parameters.
     
  2. kbuskill

    kbuskill ***CAUTION*** I do my own stunts!

    Posts:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    NE. FL.
    Name:
    Ken
    I am guessing I should have posted in the general section to get more exposure/potential feedback.
     
  3. gooffeyguy

    gooffeyguy Full Access Member

    Posts:
    549
    Likes Received:
    524
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Name:
    Tom
    Here's what's in the PID info on my Torque Pro app

    [​IMG][​IMG]

    2001 Yukon SLT
    2012 Yukon XL Denali
    2011 Yukon Denali RIP 5/20/18

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
     
    kbuskill likes this.
  4. kbuskill

    kbuskill ***CAUTION*** I do my own stunts!

    Posts:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    NE. FL.
    Name:
    Ken
    But the real question is..... does it actually work???

    Have you compared the engine oil life reading in torque pro to your DIC?
     
  5. gooffeyguy

    gooffeyguy Full Access Member

    Posts:
    549
    Likes Received:
    524
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Name:
    Tom
    Haven't really checked it or used that in the app because it's in the DIC.

    I'll check it when I get a chance this week.

    I have a Scangauge that's mounted in my 2001 and the oil life is spot on. I looked up the PID info on their sight but it's completely different fields/values.

    2001 Yukon SLT
    2012 Yukon XL Denali
    2011 Yukon Denali RIP 5/20/18

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
     
    kbuskill likes this.
  6. kbuskill

    kbuskill ***CAUTION*** I do my own stunts!

    Posts:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    NE. FL.
    Name:
    Ken
    Any luck checking on this?
     
  7. TJ Baker

    TJ Baker TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    9
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2018
    Name:
    Thomas
    I can confirm that what gooffeyguy posted works for my 2005 Yukon with LM7. Matches my DIC and Tech 2 as well.

    You mentioned having oil temperature? My Tech2 doesn't show that for my 2005 5.3 so maybe not available.

    I recorded the traffic while displaying the data with the Tech2 as well but I haven't looked that over yet,, and honestly, I don't really know what I'm looking at there. Still fun though !
     
    kbuskill likes this.
  8. gooffeyguy

    gooffeyguy Full Access Member

    Posts:
    549
    Likes Received:
    524
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Name:
    Tom
    Just saw this.

    No I haven't checked it yet. My brother borrowed the OBD bluetooth adapter to pull some codes the other day and he hasn't returned it yet.

    2001 Yukon SLT
    2012 Yukon XL Denali
    2011 Yukon Denali RIP 5/20/18

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
     
    kbuskill likes this.
  9. gooffeyguy

    gooffeyguy Full Access Member

    Posts:
    549
    Likes Received:
    524
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2018
    Location:
    St. Louis
    Name:
    Tom
    Got my adapter back. Oil life monitor doesn't give a reading in Torque app.

    My adapter is the OBDLink MX and I even tried it in their app and I can't even find an Oil Life PID in the app, unless I create a custom one.

    2001 Yukon SLT
    2012 Yukon XL Denali
    2011 Yukon Denali RIP 5/20/18

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
     
  10. kbuskill

    kbuskill ***CAUTION*** I do my own stunts!

    Posts:
    2,810
    Likes Received:
    3,165
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2017
    Location:
    NE. FL.
    Name:
    Ken
    Yeah mine doesn't work either. I can change some of the parameters to get a reading but it's not accurate.

    Mine comes back with a reading of A = -1

    Oh well no major loss.
     

Share This Page