Budget rebuild items?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Charlie207

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If I were to eventually find a 6.0 LY6 to swap in, what would be the smart, but budget-conscious items/parts to plan on replacing? Assume its a higher-mileage, but fully running engine.

I have no experience doing this, and have been doing some reading instead of working today. Half the camps say to ignore the bottom end (bearings, rods, pistons) if it was running.

It would need all new gaskets, oil pump, pickup o-ring, timing chain, rear seals, lifters, ....?

RST Dana

Supporting Member
Reaction score
So, you have no experience? Unless you have a friend with experience, you may be spending extra “trial and error” resources on this project, i.e. special tools, incorrect parts, labor time. This is not your grandpas chainsaw. Not to mention a shop for all this fun to take place.

j91z28d1

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm more on the sloppy mechanics side of the spectrum, an ls engine will be the easiest engine to learn on. a few youtube videos and the resources here and you're good. the sloppy guys pull a 5.3 out of the scrap yard. they consider a 6.0 a oem race built engine lol. flip if over, check the main and rod bearing, grind some bigger gap in the rings if there's no bad scoring on the cyl, re-torque the mains and rods, new or some times even reuse head. gaskets. cam kit with new lifters. reuse every thing else, hang a turbo off it on e85 and make 800hp till it breaks a rod from getting greedy with to much boost at low rpm. I believe they have gone 8s in the 1/4 for $8k including the car.

if you're thinking of swapping the engine, I'll take it you have a garage to work in. some tools and don't mind buying anything else you might need.