Is my timing causing me a P0300 code

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Reaction score
Hello everyone.
So a few years (2018) To be exact I pulled my engine after I was trying to add some headers to my engine and it had to many broken bolts.
So I basically refreshed the whole engine added new bearings an LS2 chain and LS7 Lifters and Valve Springs (The Blueys) with a splash of color to make it pop. I added a Melling MTC8 cam. Its a very mild cam it was cheap but I was a novice when so many other brands are out there with much better items for sale.
So for the last 5 years or so I have been chasing down a P0300 code and have thrown the parts canon at this beast because has not been right.
Its a smog year for me and my catalytic light has not turned off and the Pending and Stored code may have something to do with it. I asked some one a tune would help and he right away asked if my timing could be off. The Cam is so mild it should not be behaving this way according to him.
So I looked back at my old pictures of when I rebuilt this engine and if you look closely the sprockets are off by a tiny bit. So I wanted to ask some more talented people on here should I bite the bullet and reopen the front to realign?
Some of the symptoms I can easily describe.
* sometimes the engine runs fine
* sometimes the engine stutters on take off
* sometimes the engine shakes during idle
* Sometimes at full throttle the engine is very bogged down and has no response
* sometimes you can feel a sputter (like a rocking motion) as it its trying to get into another gear
* sometimes it shuts down while in reverse
i was not trying to make a rocket when I rebuilt this engine but it's not like before.
The Truck operates great over all
Oil Pressure is over 50psi at all times