1 ton calipers?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bpodskalny

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
newer member here, ive been reading alot of threads here and this is byfar the best tahoe specific forum around. i am an ASE master mechanic, and work as a toyota technician. i am very well versed in auto tech, however its all involving yotas.

the wifes truck is a 99 tahoe 1500 4dr 4wd. it has front disc and rear drum brakes, and the kelsey hayes anti braking system (not a typo)

brakes on my tahoe suck, and its esepecially apparent because i myself have a 2wd 06 silverado as a daily driver. im not talking about towing, i mean just out running errands. brakes seem to lag, then grab suddenly. but only at certain times. rear brakes have been adjusted, and brake fluid has been changed with no effect.

i got to thinking. why not upgrade both with calipers from a higher rated truck/van?

i searched the forum and elsewhere, and wasnt able to find a the info i needed. i did find a thread stating that it is possible to use 8500gvw 3/4 ton calipers

ive found many overlaps in GMs caliper usage. for example, most 1500 series trucks/suvs use the same calipers. even 2500 trucks use them in many common instances. however...

99 police package tahoe calipers =
99 3500 single rear wheel (non-dually) =
99 2500 suburban 8600 GVW.

so these are the larger ones im looking for.

The 1500 7700gvw caliper cups have a 2.95 inch bore (75mm) and the 2500 8800gvw had a 3.1 (79mm) inch bore.

they have the same size brake hose inlet, and as far as i can tell they are direct boltons.

however! if my knowledge of hydraulics serves me right, a larger diameter piston cup will exert more force at the expense of more pedal travel. and im having a much harder time finding the right stats about front brake rotor, mastercylinder, and rear brake cylinder specs/swap info.