Welding broken fender

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Matthew Jeschke

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm a terrible welder, but have that itty bitty $100 harbor freight 110V welder. I've done a few things with limited success. Most recently my passenger fender broke where were the core support attaches. It ripped off right around the bolt.

I welded it back up and my welds didn't hold. I had stripped the paint and cleaned the metal but it didn't work. I'm going to pull the fender and see if I cannot put a backing plate of some sort on there to reinforce it.

Long story short, I don't know jack. Do I have to use a special kind of welding wire for the fenders. I assume they're steel? The metal is paper thing almost.

20231209_085429.jpg

20231209_085221.jpg

iamdub

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm a terrible welder, but have that itty bitty $100 harbor freight 110V welder. I've done a few things with limited success. Most recently my passenger fender broke where were the core support attaches. It ripped off right around the bolt.

I welded it back up and my welds didn't hold. I had stripped the paint and cleaned the metal but it didn't work. I'm going to pull the fender and see if I cannot put a backing plate of some sort on there to reinforce it.

Long story short, I don't know jack. Do I have to use a special kind of welding wire for the fenders. I assume they're steel? The metal is paper thing almost.

View attachment 416028

View attachment 416029