Torque converter question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

spyderrider

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I'm a torque converter newbie, someone school me here. I have a 08 Denali, and I've read the factory stall is in the 1400-1600 range. I've also read these things tend to grenade, taking out the trans, so before that happens I wanna upgrade it. What difference would I see if I went with a higher stall unit, say 1900-2200 range.

Geotrash

Dave
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm a torque converter newbie, someone school me here. I have a 08 Denali, and I've read the factory stall is in the 1400-1600 range. I've also read these things tend to grenade, taking out the trans, so before that happens I wanna upgrade it. What difference would I see if I went with a higher stall unit, say 1900-2200 range.
Faster 0-60 times, but more driveline slippage, higher trans temps, higher engine RPMs at a given speed, and lower fuel economy. The added slip will likely annoy you unless you have a bigger cam with a lope, in which case you won’t notice the idle surging at a traffic light as much.

A better solution for a stock engine is a stronger unit with a billet cover and stronger, thicker lockup clutch.

Marky Dissod

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm a torque converter newbie, someone school me here. I have a 08 Denali, and I've read the factory stall is in the 1400-1600RpM range.
I've also read these things tend to grenade, taking out the trans, so before that happens I wanna upgrade it.
What difference would I see if I went with a higher stall unit, say 1900-2200RpM range?
The above is a gross oversimplification, although it's also true.
I would not DREAM of going with an aftermarket 'higher stall unit' unless I was able to pay for one with at least 12 years worth of a stellar reputation.