Rear Shock Replacement?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Josh D

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I bought a 2016 GMC Yukon XL Denali and looks like the rear shocks are already starting to leak. I am new to Magnetic Ride shocks, but can't figure out why the shock looks to be leaking in the air bag portion of the shock.

Can someone chime in and let me know if this is the shocks leaking or something else related to the air bags?

I noticed that issues can involve the air compressor and wondered if maybe it could be related as well.

Thanks in advance for all of the help!

Left Shock 1.jpg Left Shock.jpg Right Shock.jpg

Big Mama

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Looks like the shock seal is leaking. How often do you hear the compressor running? Is there anything else around the shock wet? @iamdub has a bit of experience with these too.

RST Dana

Supporting Member
Reaction score
@RockAuto has what you need. Usually has a discount code here as well. Lifetime warranty for my replacement that took 39 minutes to swap out.

iamdub

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It looks like an oil and it looks like it's coming from the shock since there's nothing else around there that would wet it just in those areas. I'm thinking that odd, sharply-defined sloped part at the top of the shock in two of the pics is a shadow that's screwing with us.

Yes, the compressors eventually fail, but what usually happens is the bellow on the shock wears and develops a leak. The leak makes the compressor run longer and more often than usual, so its already aged life is accelerated and it tends to fail soon after cuz nobody really notices the shocks leaking.

OP
OP
Josh D

Josh D

TYF Newbie
Reaction score