My Intro/2006 Yukon Brake Issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

6977Gregyver

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I'm currently a small engine mechanic but I've been a automotive mechanic for a long time. I was also an electrician for about 15 years. I consider myself a Jack-Of-All-Trades master of one. Some people might think that driving a truck over the road is a piece of cake, and actually it is, but to be really good at it take experience and a certain feel for it. Driving is my preferred profession and I am the best driver I know. Enough about me.

I own a 2006 GMC Yukon that has been giving me a headache lately. On occasion while driving the brakes will start squeezing the calipers all by themselves and slow you down to the point where you have to pull over on the side of the road. Most times they will release themselves in about ten minutes and I can begin driving again.
The last time this happened I had to loosen the nuts on the master cylinder and pull it away from the firewall about a 1/4" before I could move the vehicle. I recently installed new rotors, new brakes - front and rear, new master cylinder, new line from the power steering to the master cylinder, new power steering pump - this Yukon has Hydro boost. I am at a loss to understand why the brakes keep applying themselves. Has anyone experienced or heard of this problem and a possible solution?

Joseph Garcia

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the Forum from NH.

Lots of knowledgeable folks here who freely share their knowledge, experiences, and perspectives. Knowledge is power.

I hope that you will become a participating member in the Forum's discussions.

Pics of the truck, please.

I cannot personally help you with your question; however, other members on this Forum that are much more knowledgeable than me will chime in.

rockola1971

Full Access Member