Instrument Cluster problems

Discussion in 'Interior' started by Jooshmeister, Oct 12, 2019.

  1. Jooshmeister

    Jooshmeister TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Name:
    Josh
    So I'm in a spot of bother right now and my instrument cluster is not working. I opened it up to see why the PRND321 screen was so dim and a capacitor fell out (forgot to take pics, I'll have to do that at a later date). Basically, I had to find the spot where I thought the capacitor fell off and guess which side was positive and which was negative. It worked for all of a minute, but I think my solder job fried it and now the whole thing doesn't work. Has anyone had it this bad? I'm trying to find a replacement but all of the shops are closed for the weekend.
     
  2. Doubeleive

    Doubeleive Supporting Member

    Posts:
    8,784
    Likes Received:
    7,825
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    Stockton, Ca.
    Name:
    Wes
    all the way up is park, next down is reverse, next down is neutral, next down is drive, next down is 3rd, next down is 2nd, next down is 1st
    you'll be fine till Tuesday
     
  3. Jooshmeister

    Jooshmeister TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Name:
    Josh
    That's what I figured...
     
    Doubeleive likes this.
  4. Doubeleive

    Doubeleive Supporting Member

    Posts:
    8,784
    Likes Received:
    7,825
    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2017
    Location:
    Stockton, Ca.
    Name:
    Wes
    unless you have a electronics supply or fry's or something around you then ya your kinda outa luck, you could get lucky at the junkyard and find a decent used one you would just have too have the mileage corrected at some point.
     
  5. swathdiver

    swathdiver Full Access Member

    Posts:
    9,819
    Likes Received:
    8,853
    Joined:
    May 18, 2017
    Location:
    Treasure Coast, Florida
    Name:
    James
    There's a guy who posts videos on how to fix them on ebay. You could send yours to him, not cheap but done right.
     
  6. Rocket Man

    Rocket Man Build It Better Supporting Member

    Posts:
    12,666
    Likes Received:
    18,535
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Name:
    Mark
    Digital dash solutions has rebuilt clusters, he programs them for your mileage and ships them right away. You can drive without a cluster just don’t run out of gas! His website has a link to his EBay store too. He’s a good dude.
    https://www.fixmygauges.com/
     
    89Suburban likes this.
  7. CFD Jerry

    CFD Jerry TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2019
    Name:
    Jerry
    I know GM had a recall on them many years ago and mine was doing that and speed was way off.. I could be doing 30 and it said 90... Doing 55 and I got 30... Of course they put a time frame on it by years and miles to qualify to get if done free.... Here is the kicker of the recall..... Say they went 7 years or whatever it was they put how many miles it could have and could not be over that.... How fair was that to the person that was in the time frame they specified and was over the mileage compared to the person the same that was under the mileage they set... Not fair all
     

Share This Page