1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

General question on custom tunes from BB

Discussion in 'Black Bear Performance' started by Stonefort, Oct 7, 2020.

  1. Stonefort

    Stonefort TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Name:
    Rm
    After a purchase of the Autocal V3 with custom tune from BB, is the tune file locked from me going into EFI live and changing parameters on my custom BB tune? I know, why would I do this when you guys offer free updates. Just something I wanted to know beforehand, in case I wanted to personally edit the tune for my vehicle. Are all the parameters available for me to edit in the custom tune?

    Thanks! Sorry for the off the wall question.

    Rm
     
  2. 79jasper

    79jasper Full Access Member

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    219
    Likes Received:
    104
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2017
    Name:
    Jasper
    Usually most parameters are locked. Some will leave small stuff available, like idle rpm, shift points, etc.
    If wanting to change your own stuff, you should probably look into hp tuners.
    But curious to know the answer as well. (For future reference)

    Sent from my SM-N960U using Tapatalk
     
    Stonefort likes this.
  3. STORMIN08

    STORMIN08 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    259
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Name:
    shawn
    a custom tuner usually does lock the file, otherwise anyone could steal the info...

    from what i have searched recently, Diablo allow the most changes for a generic handheld tuner. a sophisticated approach could be to data log all parameters and create a base line from that...but time consuming to do
     
  4. Stonefort

    Stonefort TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Name:
    Rm
    Why would a tuner lock a custom tune? I can understand locking a canned tune....but a custom tune is a data logged tune....the parameters are not going to work very well on anyone else's vehicle even if they are exactly the same.....hence the considerable time spent data logging and adjusting.
     
  5. STORMIN08

    STORMIN08 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    259
    Likes Received:
    35
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Name:
    shawn
    your thinking is too narrow...your tune will work rather well on any like vehicle at your altitude...
    any similarly equipped vehicle will act rather well...

    a generic canned tune is a far less refined and works on an even broader spectrum...

    give it a thought... if you BB, PPEI (national duramax record holder), Banks ect...would you want everyone to see your secret recipe ?? i think not.

    this is also the reason to vin lock is sales...if SC, Diablo, ect gave you an open envite...you would be flashing your buddies vehicle for a 6 pack and they would out...or your tunes would be several thousands of dollars
     
    79jasper and Stonefort like this.
  6. drakon543

    drakon543 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,947
    Likes Received:
    1,105
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Name:
    james
    as above stated unless your running a fully built engine a custom tune for your typical bolt on upgrades will work well with any similar setup. it will work the best with your particular setup but it will still work well with other similar setups too. kfc secret recipe cola secret recipe and patents. all in the same ball park if you have something worth marketing keep it to yourself as much as possible. if your after more open tuning options you can buy an hptuner setup. heard people regularly share tunes with those.
     
    Stonefort likes this.
  7. BlackBearPerf

    BlackBearPerf Supporting Vendor Supporting Member

    Posts:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    458
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Hayden, Idaho
    Name:
    Shannon
    The best way I can answer that is Justin sets it up where you can make changes to the tune if you want, it is not locked in that regard, we also do not lock the controllers.

    We do update the tunes for free as long as you own the vehicle BUT depending on what changes you made to the tune that can effect the update service at that time.

    Also just to make sure you know, you are not able to do any tuning with the AutoCal V3, you would need the V2 Scan and tune hardware to make changes and do your own tuning.
     
  8. Stonefort

    Stonefort TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    20
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Name:
    Rm
    Thank you very much for that info. Also good info on the v2 vs the v3 for tuning.
     
    BlackBearPerf likes this.
  9. BlackBearPerf

    BlackBearPerf Supporting Vendor Supporting Member

    Posts:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    458
    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2011
    Location:
    Hayden, Idaho
    Name:
    Shannon
    You are welcome, let us know if you have any other questions.
     
    Stonefort likes this.

Share This Page