? for some motorheads

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

wheatswake

Full Access Member
Reaction score
so i am getting into understanding the workings of a motor and looking into other mods besides exhaust,air intake,and tune. i have read that running a high octane (92/93) could result in pre-ignition/detonation. i have also read that the ecu adjusts timing according to the knock/crank sensor. (can't remember which one)

so heres my question

is this octane worry resticted to mechanical distributors or does is carry over to modern day ignition systems?

also can one simply do a cam-swap or do heads,rods,springs,rollers,and rockers need to be addressed with a cam-swap? will the ecu adjust the timing for the cam-swap?

is electronically advancing the timing with a programmer very minimal because of a stock setup?

i am just learning so forgive me if i dont word things correctly.

Last edited:

Zed 71

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Higher Octane
- Running higher octane in today's engine is not an issue. If the ECU can not adjust accordingly, there will not be any benefit. Typically a tune is required to take advantage. However, for engines requiring high octane fuel, then there would be a potential issue running lower octane fuel such as knock, etc especially at full load (WOT).

Cam
- Recommend a dyno tune or at least an in person type tune to ensure all operating parameters are within spec and to make the most out of the cam swap.

Timing
- Advancing timing on a stock engine will have very minor gains (if any).

Good questions.

OP
OP
wheatswake

wheatswake

Full Access Member
Reaction score