Diesel

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Diesel2door96

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hey! New to the forum, I don’t do the social media stuff, but here’s the problem.
I have a 96 2 door diesel with the 6.5
I have been having issues with it after warm up, it’ll run great for about an hour or so, and when on the throttle, but when I am sitting at a light or just idling, it’ll start hesitating like the fuel is being restricted. I’ve since replaced the lift pump, pmd 3 times, injectors, fuel filter, fuel solenoid, I’m not sure what else to look for to remedy this. Thoughts?

Attachments

• 9ECC85FB-2E3C-459E-9F63-EC9FF8E293D6.jpeg
    9ECC85FB-2E3C-459E-9F63-EC9FF8E293D6.jpeg
    794.4 KB · Views: 4

OR VietVet

Multnomah Falls
Supporting Member
Military
Reaction score
First: Welcome to the forum.

Second: I am not a diesel mechanic but I can guess with the best. Since you said it runs fine at throttle but falters at idle, I would not think there is a restriction. If there was, it would not run better at throttle. It almost sounds like is too much fuel at idle. I am ASSUMING, there is a way to tee in to a fuel feed line and see what is going on with the pressure when the problem happens. I would also want to know if the compression is good in all cylinders. Afterall, no spark, but compression is what helps with the power in those cylinders. At throttle, a weak cylinder compression could be hidden. I may be way off base but will pat myself on the back if I guessed right. Good luck.

Eman85

Full Access Member
Reaction score