Correcting Camber After Lift?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Justinj360

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm trying to get to the bottom of my camber issue. I've had a 3" torsion key and 2" spacer kit installed on my 2004 Yukon AWD for a while and the tops of my front tires have always been visibly pointed out like this: \\--o--//

It's not drastic but my front tires wear noticeably on the outsides too. I have it aligned regularly and they must be using the stock specs for the alignment? It still has some room for camber adjustment if you look at the bolts and brackets. I'm not an alignment expert but can't they compensate for that some more?

I also talked to the shop that does my alignments and they said to find the lift kit's alignment specs. So I spoke with Rough Country and they said really nothing can be done further... That can't be right... Right?

06JET

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You need to take it to a different shop. The machine should be seeing the actual wheel position.

OP
OP
Justinj360

Justinj360

Supporting Member
Reaction score
That's exactly what I thought. But after multiple alignments done by 2 different shops over the past 3 or 4 years with this kit installed the camber always comes out the same. Except when I installed the lift kit and when I changed ball joints, those times I know the camber was adjusted.

The camber reading on the print out they give me is just barely in the green zone. Its at least 3 degrees though.

I don't know how the alignment machines work but if the vehicle is aligned in the air would that throw off the camber for a vehicle with a lift when its placed on the ground?

OP
OP
Justinj360

Justinj360

Supporting Member
Reaction score
And the shop I just had it done at was Firestone because I have their lifetime alignment deal.

OP
OP
Justinj360

Justinj360