2013 Escalade ESV AWD front differential left side axle bearing...loose?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

skpyle

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Good Evening, All

I have run into the first potential issue with my new to me 2013 Escalade ESV Premium AWD.
I think the front differential left side axle bearing is loose/worn/failing/etc...

As with any new to me vehicle, I was changing all the fluids. While changing the front differential oil. I bumped my arm against the left side axle output flange on the casing. It moved a bit. I grabbed it and found some lateral play. Meaning I could move it towards the front of the vehicle a bit, and then move it towards the back of the vehicle a bit.

For giggles, I checked the right side axle output flange. It did not have any lateral play.
I am new to the GMT900 platform, but this does not seem right to me.
I don't see any evidence of oil leakage from the seal, nor any metal particles from the flange grinding against the differential casing. The old oil didn't have any real metallic particles or sheen. It just looked like decent condition old gear oil.

I wanted to run this by you guys before I start hassling the dealership about the 2 year powertrain warranty.

Here is a photo of the axle output flange in question:

2021-10-14 021.JPG

Thanks for your time!

Geotrash

Dave
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Good Evening, All

I have run into the first potential issue with my new to me 2013 Escalade ESV Premium AWD.
I think the front differential left side axle bearing is loose/worn/failing/etc...