2004 5.3L Tahoe Proportioning Valve/ ABS/ Coolant leak

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

KarenZ71

Reaction score
Hello, I appalogize ahead if I'm in the wrong thread. I wanted to see if anyone could help figure out what these lines are and how I should go about replacing them. I'm not a mechanic by any means just try to do what I can to keep er' running.

Both lines from underneath the proportioning valve are soaked. I do not know what lines these are. Are they cooler lines? (I have a coolant leak and it looks like coolant on these lines.)

From above the brake booster looks wet as well but more from underneath. I saw a video once where the sensor on the proportioning valve was leaking and wasn't from the valve at all.

So just wondering if anyone would have any suggestions. Thanks all for your time.

Thank you

Attachments

• Screenshot_20230928_190324_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20230928_190324_Gallery.jpg
    251.1 KB · Views: 15
  • Screenshot_20230928_190645_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20230928_190645_Gallery.jpg
    264.8 KB · Views: 13
  • 20230928_142508.jpg
    20230928_142508.jpg
    237 KB · Views: 14

rockola1971

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Those are your brake lines that feed brake fluid to the front and rear brakes. The whole purpose of the proportioning valve is to apply a certain percentage of braking pressure to the rear brakes and the rest to the front brakes. Remember when you were a kid and told to not ever grab just the front or step on just the rear brakes because your front wheel will lock up and send you over the handlebars or just the rears which will send the rear end out from behind you and try to roll ahead of you while doing it??? On a bicycle, dirtbike, atc, motorcyle....etc. Same rules apply to a automobile, especially a top heavy SUV.

OP
OP
K

KarenZ71

Reaction score