1st time trailering with 2013 Tahoe

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

hockeyguy

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I have a 2013 2WD Tahoe with 5.3 engine. I am looking to rent a towable camper for a family camping trip. As this is my first time trailering with this vehicle I am wondering what advice you guys have as far as the equipment I should be looking to obtain to make this happen...like the hitch, brake controller, etc.

Thanks

Geotrash

Dave
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have a 2013 2WD Tahoe with 5.3 engine. I am looking to rent a towable camper for a family camping trip. As this is my first time trailering with this vehicle I am wondering what advice you guys have as far as the equipment I should be looking to obtain to make this happen...like the hitch, brake controller, etc.

Thanks
For anything with a tongue weight over 400 lbs or a total trailer weight over 4000 pounds, you'll want a weight distributing hitch (WDH). The people who rent you the camper will likely have one that they will include with the rental because part of the hitch is bolted to the a-frame of the camper. They should also be able to help you with getting the hitch set up right for your truck.

If your truck doesn't have the factory brake controller, it's easy to add one. I prefer the Tekonsha P3 and have one in our 2007. Works great.

If you don't have the factory air suspension, you may eventually want to invest in a set of Sumo Springs or equivalent for the rear to help get rid of any sag that the WDH can't eliminate.