07 Yukon oil change discovery

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Nbkc15

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I recently bought a07 Yukon Denali with the 6.2, has 250k miles so it’s not new by any means lol. Runs and shifts great though. Now I’ll be honest, I’m no mechanic. I know how to do the basics but that’s about it. I was changing the oil today and went to change the filter when I noticed this hole behind the filter. Now I would assume these teeth shouldn’t be exposed like this but I honestly have no idea what I’m looking at. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• IMG_9746.jpeg
    IMG_9746.jpeg
    355.4 KB · Views: 13
  • IMG_9744.jpeg
    IMG_9744.jpeg
    463.2 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_9742.jpeg
    IMG_9742.jpeg
    398 KB · Views: 13

wjburken

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I recently bought a07 Yukon Denali with the 6.2, has 250k miles so it’s not new by any means lol. Runs and shifts great though. Now I’ll be honest, I’m no mechanic. I know how to do the basics but that’s about it. I was changing the oil today and went to change the filter when I noticed this hole behind the filter. Now I would assume these teeth shouldn’t be exposed like this but I honestly have no idea what I’m looking at. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
That is an inspection hole. The thing with the teeth is your flex plate. It’s just missing the cap.
GM Genuine Parts 24205900 Transmission Bell Housing Inspection Cover (62 mm) https://a.co/d/ec3ixRn

Last edited:
OP
OP
N

Nbkc15

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
That is an inspection hole. The thing with the teeth is your flex plate. It’s just missing the cap.