Worth purchase?... Haynes Repair Manual and/or Factory Service Manual

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

KATfishing

Full Access Member
Reaction score
2008 Yukon Denali, 147K. I'm not a mechanic/technician, but I do my own brakes, replace belts, etc... and basic work where I can save money and learn something. I thought it might be nice to own a Hayne's Repair Manual (I had one for a car years ago), but then I noticed on eBay that you can also purchase CDs/download links for a Factory Service Workshop Repair Manual. Not to complicate it, but I also came across the Chilton Repair Manual. I know there is much available through this forum and through online searches, but I am still wondering if it's worth the buy to own any of these resources. Please weigh in! Thank you

Big Mama

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yes and a good scanner like the Tech2. forums can help possible solutions but the manual has detailed testing and repair instructions. They pay for themselves quickly

swathdiver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
2008 Yukon Denali, 147K. I'm not a mechanic/technician, but I do my own brakes, replace belts, etc... and basic work where I can save money and learn something. I thought it might be nice to own a Hayne's Repair Manual (I had one for a car years ago), but then I noticed on eBay that you can also purchase CDs/download links for a Factory Service Workshop Repair Manual. Not to complicate it, but I also came across the Chilton Repair Manual. I know there is much available through this forum and through online searches, but I am still wondering if it's worth the buy to own any of these resources. Please weigh in! Thank you