Transmission life on the early Hoes?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Mean_Green

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've scanned a few threads on the other version forums and they seem to say some transmissions are better than others. This vehicles shows 190+ on the clock. I hope I didn't buy into a world of problems that might lead to breakdowns and big money. I'm completely new to this type of vehicle and I'll admit I went in kind of blind and hoping for the best.

Did I mess up?

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Reaction score
all depends on how much you push the big pedal, drive like granny you might not ever have a problem, drive like mario and you will have a problem.
it doesn't get any more complicated than that. if you do not know how the previous owner treated then it's anyone's guess
there is no way to tell otherwise than to look in the pan and fluid that comes out of it

B-train

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Agreed. Light to moderate throttle is healthy and good for mechanicals that breathe and require pressure to operate.

Listening to your cheap fart can exhaust using the gas pedal as a WOT ON/OFF switch will kill even the best intentioned transmission.....(probably not you, but I'm sure you can pick out the dingbats on the highway)

Marky Dissod

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've scanned a few threads on the other version forums and they seem to say some transmissions are better than others.
This vehicles shows 190+ on the clock.
I hope I didn't buy into a world of problems that might lead to breakdowns and big money.
I'm completely new to this type of vehicle and I'll admit I went in kind of blind and hoping for the best.

Did I mess up?
Have you changed the ATF & ATF filter yet?
Best time was when you bought it. Next best time is now.
After that, change it again after 25,000 more miles.