1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Radio static

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by Tbruz, Apr 23, 2020.

  1. Tbruz

    Tbruz Full Access Member

    Posts:
    457
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Windham NH
    Name:
    Tony
    Is there a radio static suppressor somewhere on my 1997 Tahoe 5.7L with stock radio with built in CD unit?
    All of a sudden I get static on my favorite FM radio stations. Static is not noticeable when the engine is not running.
    CD sound quality is still perfect( engine off and on)so I can rule out speakers.
    Plug wires/cap and plugs are AC Delco and fairly new as well.
    I'm about to swap in my old radio w cassette just to rule in or out the radio itself.

    I recall older vehicles did have a static suppressing capacitor but am unsure about this one.
    Thanks in advance.
    Tbruz
     
  2. PNW VietVet

    PNW VietVet Supporting Member

    Age:
    67
    Posts:
    5,629
    Likes Received:
    4,373
    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon
    Name:
    Ron
  3. Fless

    Fless Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    2,598
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Location:
    Elev 5,280
    Name:
    Steve
    Check and clean the ground that goes from the firewall to the hood. You may want to check and clean the other main grounds, too.
     
    PNW VietVet likes this.
  4. Fless

    Fless Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    2,598
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Location:
    Elev 5,280
    Name:
    Steve
    Are you getting static on the AM stations, too?
     
    PNW VietVet likes this.
  5. Tbruz

    Tbruz Full Access Member

    Posts:
    457
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Windham NH
    Name:
    Tony
    yes the AM stations now have static as well.
    Thanks
    Tbruz
     
  6. Joseph Garcia

    Joseph Garcia Supporting Member

    Posts:
    1,117
    Likes Received:
    1,168
    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2018
    Name:
    Joseph
    Have you done any work under the dash or around the head unit? If yes, double check your antenna connection into the head unit, to ensure that it is fully inserted.
     
    PNW VietVet likes this.
  7. Tbruz

    Tbruz Full Access Member

    Posts:
    457
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Windham NH
    Name:
    Tony
    No work performed under the dash. I will try unplugging and re-inserting the antenna lead.
    This really came out of nowhere.
    Thanks
    Tbruz
     
    PNW VietVet likes this.
  8. Fless

    Fless Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,983
    Likes Received:
    2,598
    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2017
    Location:
    Elev 5,280
    Name:
    Steve
    I'm thinking that something came loose since it happened all of a sudden. While you have the head unit out doublecheck the radio ground to the chassis; if there's not one, try a makeshift one to see if it would help.
     
    PNW VietVet and Joseph Garcia like this.
  9. iCajun

    iCajun Member

    Posts:
    51
    Likes Received:
    24
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2015
    Name:
    Alan
    Any updates? I get a tic-tic-tic if a plug wire arcs and a whine when an alternator rectifier opens, both following engine speed of course.
     
    PNW VietVet likes this.
  10. Tbruz

    Tbruz Full Access Member

    Posts:
    457
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Windham NH
    Name:
    Tony
    Static issue solved !!
    While chasing anther issue, I found one of my distributor cap mounting ears had broken off of the distributor base. I basically had only one mounting ear holding down the cap. I bought the Dorman 90449 dizzy repair plate and installed it.
    NO more static !!
    Thanks
    Tbruz
     
    Fless likes this.

Share This Page