Radio relay?

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by DallasTahoe, Oct 29, 2018.

  1. DallasTahoe

    DallasTahoe Full Access Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    644
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Name:
    David
    For about a week now my radio has been shutting off on its own, I do here a click coming from under the dash when this happens is there a relay for it? And I’d so where is it and does it power anything else?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  2. east302

    east302 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    636
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Name:
    east302
    I see two diagrams, one for the radio with and one without a power amplifier. The ones with the amplifier have a relay.

    Diagrams with amplifier:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Without amplifier:

    [​IMG]

    Remote unit:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. DallasTahoe

    DallasTahoe Full Access Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    644
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Name:
    David
    Wow great info! So let’s say the relay is clicking off for the amp would that make the radio turn off?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. east302

    east302 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    636
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Name:
    east302
    It’s the other way around. The relay has voltage to it all the time (from the cigarette lighter fuse). This is switched to power the amplifier when the radio is turned on. So when the radio turns off, the relay switches back and kills power to the amplifier.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  5. DallasTahoe

    DallasTahoe Full Access Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    644
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Name:
    David
    Hmmm ok maybe I’ll try wiring my stereo to an ignition on source


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. east302

    east302 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    636
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Name:
    east302
    The clock and station memory are supplied on circuit 1140, so that’s always hot. The radio itself is powered on with the ignition on circuit 43.

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  7. east302

    east302 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    636
    Likes Received:
    195
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2016
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Name:
    east302
    I saw your post on GMT400. I’d guess that it’s either a bad connection at the harness or an internal radio issue. Not that it helps, but twenty-plus years ago I had a Sony CD player that would overheat and turn itself off. Once it cooled down, it would work again.




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. DallasTahoe

    DallasTahoe Full Access Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    644
    Likes Received:
    178
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Name:
    David

    Yea but this is doing it like right after I turn the truck or within 3or 4 minutes of turning on the truck. Sometimes it will come back in a few seconds later or I’ll have to turn off my truck wait a few seconds, then turn it back on. Or sometimes it won’t do it at all


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page