Quick questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Dempsey561

Reaction score
I'm really new to the mechanical world, but I'm really interested in learing more about some stuff. I have a 96 tahoe, currently the stock 350. I would like to know which headers and exhaust system would be best to make my tahoe a bit faster, not worried about the gas mpg going down or anything like that. Also I was just currious to why I have 4 wheel drive, but in 2wd I don't have posi--? Is that normal or is my rear axle messed up? -- Thank you. Dempsey561.

SunlitComet

OBS Jedi-Do Good
Reaction score
Your rear axle may not have a locker option installed. iI was an option during manufacturing. But could be installed later if someone chose to. You probably just have an open differential. Enter your VIN here for a build sheet and break down of your vehicle.

As far as performance it is usually best to start with the intake and work you way thru the engine and down to exhaust. You can actually change a lot of different stuff to get improvements. Do you specifically want to start with exhaust?

I personally was just getting starting on engine mods before I blew out a gasket. I had just installed a K&N Fuel injection performance kit that I got for $238 at amazon.com and was working on getting e-fans, ignition upgrades and throttle body porting, valve train components next before going to headers, hi-flow cats and a cat-back system and finally a computer retune from Black Bear.

Last edited:
OP
OP
D

Dempsey561

Reaction score