New here “04 Tahoe Z71”

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Umbinc6714

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hello I’m new to this page. I recently picked up a higher mileage 04 tahoe z71. I have a very loud chirping noise from 0-30mph it doesn’t do it in reverse or when sitting still. Sounds like it’s coming from the front. Abs light is on. Is there a common issue with these that could give me an idea of where to start?

Joseph Garcia

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the Forum from NH.

Lots of knowledgeable folks here who freely share their knowledge, experiences, and perspectives. Knowledge is power.

I hope that you will become a participating member in the Forum's discussions.

Pics of the truck, please.

You are already receiving sage advice from the knowledgeable folks on this Forum.

MassHoe04

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have an 04 Z71 too. Just turned 200k recently. Runs great and I love it!

Just FYI... About 3-4 weeks ago, I got an ABS light on. Code was for right front ABS speed sensor. There were two other codes stored in history. All three related to the right front ABS speed sensor signal being missing, erratic or weak. The hub had been OK when two mechanics look at it in October and there weren't nay obvious signs of failure.

I figured, OK... I'll get to that speed sensor in the next few weeks. No rush. I had already replaced a bad sensor on the left and that cured my previous ABS light coming on at highway speed only. Whatever, nothing major.

So I thought! My right front hub failed about a week later.