Halp! I bricked my Tahoe (ECU problems)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Pilot

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First off, I want to mention that I'm a total rookie and have no idea what I'm doing.

I recently had my Tahoe regeared from 3.73 to 4.56. Since then the speedo has been off. I finally decided to take the time today to flash the ECU with my Superchips Dashpaq+ to fix it. I haven't used the Dashpaq in a few years so I guess I forgot the process. I was surprised when well over an hour had gone by and the flash still had not completed. Then, suddenly, the screen on the Dashpaq goes black. I waited another 10 minutes or so and then concluded that it must be done. So I turned the ignition off (it was in the "on" position with engine not running) and then tried to start the truck. It did not start. Instead, crazy lights flashing on the dash and a disturbing buzzing/crackling sound coming from the steering column area.

Now the Dashpaq no longer recognizes the Tahoe. It just restarts over and over again when I plug it in and turn the ignition on. Tahoe will not turn over and all electronics are acting really funky (windows won't move, security warning tone sounds randomly, interior dome lights do light up but really dim....)