Need help with brake replacement

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Jeffwiz87

Reaction score
Newbie here! I have a 2008 Yukon Denali and looking to replace the brakes on it. I do tow with it and drive it like I stole it. Was wondering what people suggest for good parts for this sled. I was thinking drilled or slotted rotors? And what are good pads? Definitely want to upgrade for better stopping power. Any ideas would be great! Thanks again guys!

Fifty

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Having raced with wilwood, brembo, stoptech and AP
I'd go with stoptech, or a properly sized brembo or AP...
Some of the AP and brembo are generic what ever they find calipers (sometimes they use rears for fronts as they are skinnier frames), and wrong sized Pistons.
Being a big truck you're going to want to make sure the caliper is a wide frame, meaning that it is for 32+mm wide rotors.
You are going to have your work cut out.
A good caliper and rotor set up that will perform better than a stock caliper and rotor is going to cost you $6k and up for the fronts and rears.

People exhaust this recommendation, but have you already tried higher quality rotors and heat/load specific pads

Fifty

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I just reread this.
Call kns brakes. They will set you up. Stay away from drilled rotors on our sized vehicles unless you want to replace often.

OP
OP
J

Jeffwiz87

Reaction score
I really don't want to go crazy with it just tired of using rotors that rot out in 6 months. Was thinking of stepping up to drilled or slotted rotors but sounds like fifty has had some problems in the past. Mainly looking for a good quality pad and rotor combo that will last a little while while giving me more stopping power when pulling the boat around.

Fifty

Full Access Member
Reaction score