Clear coat coming off---Do I wash my car too much? A friendly family debate :)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rfried

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
2004 Yukon SLE 5.3...stripper model...118,000 miles, basically bone stock, no mods, no factory running boards, bench seat...but has served me perfectly well for 7 years this month.

A debate between my wife and I...I need your thoughts! Lets have a little fun..."Is it possible to wash your car so much that you start to wash the paint off?" Sounds insane right...but thats what my wife says I'm doing to my prized vehicle...read on...

I like a clean car. A lot. I believe that how your car looks is a reflection on you. Think about it...if you see a car at a stop light next to you and its filthy, it appears like the owner doesn't take care of it...am I right? Also, as a career firefighter I advertise my occupation/employer with a fire hat sticker on the back, and as a part time paramedic instructor my students know which car in the parking lot is mine. It suits me just fine for my students, as well as the general public, to know that I take care of my things, makes me feel that I have my Sh*t together.

So...back to the Yukon. Carbon metallic in color, which I think was the best color of the 2000-2006 models. I wash my car every two weeks, dry it off and spray wax it. Dusted with a duster every few days. Hand waxed every 6 months, clay bar every year, gets a professional detail once every 12 - 18 months. Interior is vacuumed and wiped out every wash, carpets shampooed every 6 months.

Well...it appears the clear coat is starting to come off...but other than the normal places (hood, roof) its also happening in weird places, like the front fenders and rear lift hatch. I do park the Yukon outside unfortunately, and in the Southern California heat...so hence the fact that I wax my car often.