at home engine replacement

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Squirrelsmith

Full Access Member
Reaction score
So I have been waiting for a nice low miles ride to come my way but I'm starting to think it might be more realistic to buy a high miles rig on the cheap and just plan to replace the engine fairly quickly, possibly transmission too. Did I mention I have never worked on cars before? But... I am a prototype machinist at a mechanical engineering company so I believe that gives me an advantage. I really want to be that guy that knows about and works on his car.. not another clueless millennial with a hybrid that only knows how to push the start button.

I guess my question is who has done it and how did it play out for you?

swathdiver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well Kevan, how bout you find a truck first and then determine what needs fixin' first? You're going to need basic tools, specialized tools, a place to work on it, a place to keep all the parts organized, another car to make runs to the store and machine shop and a shop manual at minimum.

So what have you been looking at since that last one?

OP
OP
Squirrelsmith

Squirrelsmith

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have all the above except of course specialized tools and the manual. I have been searching online several times a day for a clean one in my general area. seems one or two a day pop up on craigslist, usually high miles. really my only must haves are I want a straight body, decent paint, tailgate and I would really like the gray leather interior. I'm willing to take on all other problems over time. It's got to run too... if it doesn't my wife will not be impressed haha

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Reaction score
a short block from a local autoshop or autoparts is going to bring more satisfaction.....

pistnbroke88

TYF Newbie
Reaction score