2018 Tahoe RSE HDMI resolution

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by Jptri, Nov 3, 2018.

  1. Jptri

    Jptri TYF Newbie

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Name:
    Jason
    Just recently purchased a 2018 Chevy Tahoe premier with the RSE package. I’m having an issue with the HDMI resolution when trying to hook up an Apple TV or Roku device. The resolution is not going any higher than 480. I’ve seen folks on the forum having this issue but I’m not sure what the fix is. I’ve got to believe that the HDMI port will allow 720 or 1080, especially for a 70,000 vehicle.
     
  2. slappin

    slappin TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2018
    Name:
    scott
    I still have the same problem. Drives me crazy.
     
  3. Jptri

    Jptri TYF Newbie

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Name:
    Jason
    I ended up trading the Tahoe for a GMC Denali (mainly for the 6.2l). It supports 720p. My guess is it's a combination of equipment, including the resolution of the front and RSE screen itself.
     
  4. jsun0079

    jsun0079 TYF Newbie

    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2019
    Name:
    Jason
    I have the opposite problem of Jptri. Just picked up a 2018 Yukon SLT and tried to connect a Roku Express to the RSE HDMI input and the resolution is too large. Can only see bottom right corner of the Roku screen. Tried to manually set res to 720p with TV in home but it didnt work when returned to the Yukon to connect. Any ideas?
     
  5. Jptri

    Jptri TYF Newbie

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Name:
    Jason
    Sounds similar to what I had. The resolution would not go higher than 480. The result was that the display showed a blown up picture with only a quarter (bottom left I think) of what you would expect on the Roku home screen.
     
  6. TechSupport

    TechSupport Full Access Member

    Posts:
    310
    Likes Received:
    70
    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Location:
    06516
    Name:
    Chris
    I set my Apple TV to auto resolution and it says it's output is 720 to the screens.
     
  7. TechSupport

    TechSupport Full Access Member

    Posts:
    310
    Likes Received:
    70
    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Location:
    06516
    Name:
    Chris
    I set my Apple TV to auto resolution and it says it's output is 720 to the screens.
     
  8. Jptri

    Jptri TYF Newbie

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    8
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2018
    Name:
    Jason
    You probably have screens that support 720p. My theory is that there were a small number of 2018 Tahoe/Yukon that replaced the RCA inputs with the new HDMI port but did not get upgraded screens to support higher resolutions. They are stuck at 480p.
     

Share This Page