Z71 Off Road

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

CharPatton

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hi: Newbie here.

We're interested in "light" off-roading with a new Tahoe. Z71 looks like the way to go. But tough to get a new one. Thoughts???

If we can't get Z71, OEM skid plate with Premium model?

What other options should we look at?

And how does Tahoe compare to a loaded 4-Runner?

Many thanks!

B-train

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Z-71 is your best option for sure since it's designed for more of that kind of use. I wouldn't waste money on a premium package to go off roading with. You want 18 inch wheels, not bigger to absorb bumps and imperfections, plus being able to air down and not bottom out the rubber to rim.

Based on the problems that seem to be plaguing these new models, I'd probably go for the Toyota. More nimble, better mpg, and really well built. I overland in a 2008 yukon denali. I bought it as such, older and reliable. Don't care if it gets chipped or scratches. But, after seeing how the toyota trucks perform, it makes me think.......

Just my two cents.

Onlyone

Full Access Member
Reaction score
There are much better platforms to go off-roading in than a tahoe/Yukon. Gravel road? Great. Anything else, no thanks. Buy a Jeep, Bronco, 4 runner, etc. I have a wrangler on 37s. I love my Denali but I wouldn’t take it anywhere off-road. It’s a cruiser with 4wd. It will get you in trouble off-road. Just because you can doesn’t mean you should. They’re too wide, too long and are meant to do what they do well. Cruise. My Jeep is a diesel that is a beast off-road, but I don’t want to take it on the highway.

swathdiver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
As Dirty Harry once said, "A man's got to know his limitations!"