Which tuning route for me?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

t76turbo

Reaction score
I sent this on the contact form in the black bear site but posting here for quicker or more input.

I have a 2007 Tahoe flex fuel 5.3 2wd coming in at the end of this week.

I want to tune it immediately, get rid of DoD assuming they all have it, put on the air raid jr MIT on day one as well. Very shortly after I get it I want to add the corsa touring cat back. And the final goal will be to add a whipple or other positive displacement blower like magnacharger. But will be looking at other alternatives like turbos and centrifugal super chargers along the way which I have extensive experience with.

It wouldn't be the end of the world to have the ability to make my own changes to the tune like I have been able to do in the past with HP Tuners or the Anderson Ford Motorsport *** handheld piggyback tuner. But not a deal breaker.

With all that said. Is there a route you might suggest I take now as it relates to tuning so I am not spending more money later to upgrade? No need to double buy if I can avoid it.

JennaBear

Resident Ninja
Supporting Vendor
Reaction score
If you are looking to tune yourself, the EFILive V2 ($899 comes with two vehicle licenses) would be the best bet. If you don't forsee wanting to tune on your own, then the AutoCal ($599 comes with one vehicle license) would be the way to go.

OP
OP
T

t76turbo

Reaction score
If you are looking to tune yourself, the EFILive V2 ($899 comes with two vehicle licenses) would be the best bet. If you don't forsee wanting to tune on your own, then the AutoCal ($599 comes with one vehicle license) would be the way to go.

Thank you for the quick reply.

I would only want the ability to fine tune and not start from scratch. I'll leave that to the pros.