Oil Change Interval ?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

donjetman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I do extended oil changes and used oil analysis is so we might all learn something, and I find it interesting.

I'm trying to figure out how long I can/should go between oil & filter changes with our 140k new to us 07 Yukon Denali w/6.2 L92? The main tool I use to help me determine this is used oil analysis(UOA).

I've been doing UOA for 10 yrs on various vehicles. Here's a link to one of our vehicles that I've had for 10 yrs and have done 10 UOA to:

https://www.bobistheoilguy.com/foru...-14-500-miles-toy-fj-cruiser-4-0l#Post4918507

We bought this Yukon last Oct. w/130k miles off a used car lot without any mx history. I figured out real quick that it burned and leaked a lot of oil. It had good oil pressure and drove like a dream. I am a DIYer. I fixed the leaks by changing the rear main seal and oil pan gasket. I cured the oil burning by installing the new improved driver side valve cover and performing TSB 10-06-01-008M. I made a lot of posts here w/pics last Nov & Dec when I was doing all this work. There is a lot of gunk/crud built up inside the engine from its prior life.

https://f01.justanswer.com/ebrock63...il+Consumption,+MIL+ON,+Engine+Runs+Rough.pdf

I cleaned the spark plugs, installed new wires, installed a catch can, and installed a remote engine oil bypass filtration setup utilizing 1 Amsoil EaBP90 spin-on filter. Before I fixed everything, the catch can was catching about 1oz of oil every 100 miles. Now it catches 1 oz every 2000 miles. I went 8000 mile without adding any oil.