New guy with Questions

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

niterydr

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hello everyone.

My name is Josh and I am a car junkie. After googling for a few hours I've decided that this is the Tahoe/Yukon forum I should join. Great forum here with good information.

I am in the market for a new daily driver/tow rig. My current vehicle (2000 Audi A6 2.7T) is a nice vehicle, but it limits my fun. I can't tow a boat with it, and wish to purchase one. House projects are a pain as I can't do anything "big" as well..I have a car and borrowing a truck sucks.

My background is I work in the Fleet industry currently and have co-owned two shops. I am ASE certified, but love to learn (as much as I love to teach), here is where all of you come in :) I know my imports, engine tuning (ran the awd dyno we had at the 2nd shop, build engines and manual transmissions in the first shop), and way around cars, but do not claim to be a OBS Chevrolet expert.

I am having a delima right now. The Audi is going to be sold, and I can't decide if I want to purchase what seems like a good deal OBS Tahoe or go get a loan on a newer one. I like the 2000+ body lines, but I have experience with the OBS trucks. My shop (well within the pool of owners), had a 1998 6.5L Diesel 2500 suburban and a 1996 GMC 2500 6.5L diesel longbox. Both were great trucks and a bit more than I truely need.

The 1999 is a co-workers and he is the original owner :shocked:
It has 125k on it and he is selling it for $2000. 4 door, 4x4, LT package. He says it has the factory towing package with 3.73's and hitch, but I haven't inspected the truck (he is driving it to work tomorrow).