Light Truck Tires

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

RCMPTahoe

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Hey all! Noob here, but learned a lot already!
Have a 12 Hoe PPV and have added the factory hitch rebar and bought a brand new set of Goodyear Enforcers....to replace the studded tires it came with. I tow a heavy trailer and the Enforcers wobble all over the place so I feel I need to go with a 10 ply light truck tire. I'm having a heluva time trying to find one from any manufacturer.
265 60 R17
Has anyone found an LT tire with load rating E or higher?
I do plan on re-gearing the 308s eventually....IMG_20200504_1718381.jpg

PPV12HOE

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If you want a load range E tire your going to have to step the size up to a 265/70r17... it will actually ride softer as well due to a little bigger sidewall...

OP
OP
R

RCMPTahoe

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
I looked into 265/ 70 R17s. They are a taller tire by an inch, meaning it will throw off the gearing adversely. I tow about 6500 lbs regularly and already have an issue with gearing. I just ordered a new shifter with the tow/haul option so hopefully that helps.
By going to a load rating E tire, im trying to avoid a softer ride. The soft ride of the Enforcers is whats causing the trailer to wobble.

Joseph Garcia

Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the Forum from NH.

Folks are already chiming in to offer suggestions to your question.

balln2k11

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ditch those Firestone PPV tires. Step up to the 265/70/17 tires like others have said. Or buy the factory 20”s or 22”s wheels used of Craigslist or something.