How to Operate the 4WD?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

wamba the fool

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Greetings,

I am a complete newbie when it comes to 4WD controls. I bought a 2005 GMC Yukon XL over the weekend and I want to make sure I understand how to operate it properly.

I have a few questions:

1. Do I need to stop the vehicle to engage the 4WD Auto setting? Is it the same for the other settings?
2. Can I drive at highway speeds with the 4WD Auto setting on?
3. Any other insights or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your help!

strutaeng

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Greetings,

I am a complete newbie when it comes to 4WD controls. I bought a 2005 GMC Yukon XL over the weekend and I want to make sure I understand how to operate it properly.

I have a few questions:

1. Do I need to stop the vehicle to engage the 4WD Auto setting? Is it the same for the other settings?

Please read the owners manual. It talks in detail on how to operate the transfer case.

If you don't happen to have the hardcopy, you can find it online.

Doubeleive

Wes
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Greetings,

I have a few questions:

the only thing you really NEED to worry about for the most part is not to put it in 4lo if so equipped. unless you are stopped and not while traveling at speeds over 35 (i think, could be 30mph) in any case it will tell you in the owners manual. otherwise you can switch from 2wd/4wd/auto while moving or stopped.
you will get mixed opinions on using "auto" I use auto 24/7 and have since it was a thing and have never have had any problems. some state it puts wear on the front diff which is true in a sense but at the same time it can reduce stress on the rear diff which is a weak point.

the 18th letter

Full Access Member
Reaction score