Going nuts

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

airborne89

TYF Newbie
Reaction score
Well I thought I was all decided on a 2019 Tahoe Z71, planned on picking up a forest green one. Now I made the mistake of showing the wife a GMC Yukon SLT graphite edition. She liked the look better and the ventilated seats and I have to admit I liked the 6.2L.

So now my question is 5.3L vs 6.2L, which is a better more reliable engine? I'm coming from Ford so I have no experience with GM V8's. I've searched the forum and it appears mileage isn't a big difference between the two. I assume build quality is the same between Chevy and GMC. Are there any inherent issues with either platform I should expect? I've read some about engine tick in the 6.2L.

It will be mainly a daily driver with light off road duty, trails and beach driving, and will be a travel vehicle with the longest trip being a 1400 mile round trip every summer. I'll probably change the tires out immediately to something more all terrain no matter which one I get. Thinking Goodyear Duratracs since I've had good luck with those before.

mikeyss

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Just curious, if you came from Ford, why didn't you opt for an Expedition. I am not a die hard GM or Ford guy, I see the positives and negatives of all brands. I like seeing why people switch brands. I don't think the newer 5.3 and 6.2 have many issues. What it boils down to is: do you want 355 horsepower with a 6 speed auto that has adequate power for almost anything, or do you want 420 horsepower with a 10 speed trans that has extra power when you need it, and would be a little more fun to drive

OP
OP
airborne89

airborne89

TYF Newbie
Reaction score