For Those with Aftermarket Camshafts

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Foggy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I did a dod delete cam this spring.. Retaining VVT. The specs are in my Signature.
I'm still learning and tweaking the HP Tuners to get it to behave at idle...
But my question is: Did your new cam make your exhaust a lot louder ????

My Yukon now sounds like a cammed up racecar... It's very choppy and very noticeably louder
than with the stock camshaft.. Seems a little weird to me that the noise level is so much higher.
I have the kooks headers and cats with the rest being the stock 3.5" 6.2 denali single exhaust

I do have a magnaflow exhaust that I purchased last year, but I'm afraid it would be way too loud now

Geotrash

Dave
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Hmmm... in my understanding, an LSA of 113 is going to be hard to get to a smooth idle. My 3-bolt Cam Motion Stage 2 truck cam in my L94 engine is no louder than stock and idles *almost* as smooth as stock. Here are the specs:

212/220 duration @.050", .553"/.553” lift, 117 degree LSA + 5, 112 IC
Cam Motion Grind No. is XA212-325/220-325/117+5

OP
OP
F

Foggy

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hmmm... in my understanding, an LSA of 113 is going to be hard to get to a smooth idle. My 3-bolt Cam Motion Stage 2 truck cam in my L94 engine is no louder than stock and idles *almost* as smooth as stock. Here are the specs:

212/220 duration @.050", .553"/.553” lift, 117 degree LSA + 5, 112 IC
Cam Motion Grind No. is XA212-325/220-325/117+5
That must be the difference then... figured the 113*+8 would be a pretty mild cam. I'll go find
my actual cam card and find the IC* and report back

swathdiver

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm still learning and tweaking the HP Tuners to get it to behave at idle...